MSU Denver

More from this department:

February 2023

Wednesday, February 1
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Faculty Band
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Saturday, February 4
Music, Race, and Social Justice Visiting Artist Series
Duo Noire, classical guitar
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Sunday, February 5
Visiting Artist Masterclass: Duo Noire, classical guitar
King Center Recital Hall
10:00 am – 1:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

February 8-10
Mile High Jazz Fest
8:00 am – 5:00 pm, King Center
For more information, contact Dawn Clement

Thursday, February 9
All-State Choir Auditions
St. Cajetan’s Church/KC Practice Rooms
11:00 am – 5:00 pm
For information, contact MB Krueger

Friday, February 10 – SOLD OUT
Visiting Artist Series
Rainbow Sign: The Music of Ron Miles
Brian Blade, drums; Bill Frisell, guitar; Jason Moran, piano; Thomas Morgan, bass
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Saturday, February 11
Audition Day & Open House
9:00 am – 12:00 pm, King Center
Sign Up Online

Saturday, February 11
Artist in Residence: Colorado Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Wednesday, February 15
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Big Band, Combos
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Saturday, February 18
Art Song Colorado: Voices of the African Diaspora
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm
For more information, contact Bradley Thompson

Tuesday, February 21
Music, Race, and Social Justice Visiting Artist Series
The Space Program: Curriculum of the Mind
King Center Recital Hall
4:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

February 23-25
The MSU Denver Departments of Music, and Theatre and Dance present

Xanadu
By Douglas Carter Beane, Jeff Lynne and John Farrar
Directed by Robert Michael Sanders
7:30pm, MSU Denver Studio Theatre

Saturday, February 25
Cello Summit 2023
King Center, 7:00 am – 5:00 pm
For more information, contact Philip Ficsor

Monday, February 27
Faculty Artist Series: Philip Fiscor, viola
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm

March 2023

Wednesday, March 1
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Combos, Jam Session
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Thursday, March 2
Faculty Artist Series: Adam Snider, tuba
with DeAunn Davis, horn; Joseph Martin, trombone
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm

Saturday, March 4
Chamber Music Seminar
King Center Recital Hall
8:00 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, March 6
MSU Denver Symphonic Band and Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Friday, March 10
MSU Denver Choirs and St. Martin’s Chamber Choir
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Saturday, March 11
Artist in Residence: Colorado Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Monday, March 13
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 15
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Combos and Soundpainting
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Friday, March 17
Senior Recital: Chloe Short, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
5:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, March 27
Faculty Artist Series: David Farrell, composition
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm

CANCELEDTuesday, March 28
National Trumpet Association Recital

Wednesday, March 29
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, March 31
Senior Recital: Elisa Dean, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

April 2023

Monday, April 3
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 5
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Combos
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Wednesday, April 5
Provost Honor Recital
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 8
Senior Recital: Will Kuepper, jazz bass
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

CANCELEDSaturday, April 8
Visiting Artist Series: Colorado Collaborators Showcase II

April 10-11
Piano Celebration
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm

Wednesday, April 12
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, April 13
Music, Race, and Social Justice Visiting Artist Series
Justice Miles, dancer/choreographer
King Center Concert Hall
4:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

April 14-15
Viva Southwest Mariachi Workshops & Showcase
King Center, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday, April 15
Viva Southwest Mariachi Showcase Concert
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm

Monday, April 17
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, April 18
Senior Recital: Ethan Tatreau, classical guitar
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 19
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Combos
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Wednesday, April 19
Senior Recital: Sam Cooper, violin
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

April 20-21
ASTA All-State Orchestral Festival
King Center Concert Hall
8:00 am – 5:00 pm
For information, contact Brandon Matthews

Friday, April 21
Opera Theatre Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm

Saturday, April 22
CCAP Music Conference
King Center Recital Hall
8:00 am – 5:00 pm
For information, contact Philip Ficsor

Saturday, April 22
Senior Recital: Elisa Dean, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 24
Senior Recital: Ashley Stitt, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, April 25
Collaborative Piano Recital
King Center Recital Hall
5:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 26
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 26
Senior Composition Projects
Arts 293
6:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, April 27
Mock Juries
King Center Concert Hall
3:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public
For information, contact Carla Aguilar

Thursday, April 27
Senior Recital: Jesse Winchester, oboe
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 28
Senior Recital: Junelle Flores, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 29
MSU Denver Festival Choir & Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Sunday, April 30
MSU Denver Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Concert Hall
3:00 pm

May 2023

Monday, May 1
MSU Denver Percussion Ensemble & Symphonic Band
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Tuesday, May 2
MSU Denver Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm

Wednesday, May 3
MSU Denver Guitar Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
5:00 pm

Wednesday, May 3
Jazz and American Improvised Music Concert Series: Big Band, Combo, Jam Session
800 Kalamath, Studio 101
6:00 pm

Thursday, May 4
Senior Recital: Jakob Garcia, percussion
King Center Recital Hall
4:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, May 4
MSU Denver Festival Choir, Symphony Orchestra, and
Mariachi los Correcaminos de MSU Denver
Boettcher Hall, 1000 14th Street, Denver
7:00 pm

Friday, May 5
Artist in Residence: Colorado Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm

Saturday, May 6
Global Music Ensembles
Gamelan Manik Kusuma and
African Drum and Dance Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm

Music Department General Event Information

All Music Department events are subject to change or cancellation.

Events displayed in bold are eligible for MUS 0020 Recital Attendance credit.

Free parking for all Music Department events in the King Center is available in the 7th Street Garage, located at 777 Lawrence Way. Please enter the garage from 7th and Lawrence, as the Walnut St entrance will be closed evenings and weekends. Validation cards will be available at the Box Office prior to the event. Parking at any other lot, garage, or meter will not be eligible for validation.

King Center Box Office

855 Lawrence Way, Auraria Campus

For questions related to event ticketing, contact the King Center Box Office at 303-556-2296.

Box Office Website

Image of Charla Bevan

Contact

Charla Bevan

Music Department Events Manager
303-615-0195
[email protected]