Skip to main content Skip to main content

Fall 2019 Music Events

  

 August |  September  |  October  |  November  |  December

All Music events are free to MSU Denver Students, Faculty, and Staff.

TICKETS: Tickets are available through the King Center Box Office at 303-556-2296. There will be a $1 transaction fee per ticket purchased. MSU Denver Students, Faculty, and Staff must present a valid ID to receive a free ticket. 

PARKING: Free parking is available for all Music events in the 7th Street Parking Garage with a voucher upon exit.

NOTE: All events are subject to change. 

August

Saturday, August 10
Audition Day
King Center
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information or to schedule an audition, call 303-615-1010

Monday, August 19
Student Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm

September

Monday, September 9
Faculty Artist Series
Patricia Surman, flute and Jooeun Pak, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $13, $10, $8

Thursday, September 19
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Invisible Bird
Arts Building, Room 295
12:30 - 2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, September 21
Artist in Residence
Colorado Wind Ensemble
"Visionaries"
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Monday, September 23
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Roshan Bhartiya, sitar
Andy Skellinger, tabla
King Center Recital Hall
11:00 am, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, September 23
Faculty Artist Series
Michael Hengst, trumpet and Hyun Kim, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $13, $10, $8

Wednesday, September 25
Visiting Artist Series
Peter Sommer, saxophone
and Timothy Burns, piano
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Friday, September 27
Visiting Artist Series
Taína Asili
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Monday, September 30
Visiting Artist Masterclass
The Sam Williams and Art Lande Duo
Arts Building, Room 295
2:30 - 3:20 pm, Free and Open to the Public

October

Monday, October 7
Convocation: Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, October 9
MSU Denver Symphonic Band and Chamber Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $12, $8, $5

Thursday, October 10
Visiting Artist Series
Session Brass Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Friday, October 11
MSU Denver Choirs
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $12, $8, $5

Wednesday, October 16
Convocation: Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, October 16
Visiting Artist Series
Taarka: indie folk, gypsy jazz & bluegrass
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Thursday, October 17
Visiting Artist Series
New Bojaira, flamenco jazz
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Monday, October 21
Convocation: Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, October 21
Senior Recital
Haelyn Bloxham, tenor
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, October 22
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
Dazzle, 1512 Curtis St., Denver 
6:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, October 23
MSU Denver Jazz Orchestra and Jazz Combos
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

CANCELED - Thursday, October 24
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Sunday, October 27
Visiting Artist Series
The Playground Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

Monday, October 28
Faculty Artist Series
Emily Ondracek-Peterson, violin
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $13, $10, $8

Wednesday, October 30
Convocation: Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

October 31 - November 1
Choral Celebration
King Center Concert Hall
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information, contact MB Krueger, kruegema@msudenver.edu

November

Sunday, November 10
Student Composition Readings
King Center Recital Hall
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm, Free and Open the Public

Monday, November 11
Shadow Day at MSU Denver
King Center
9:00 am - 4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public
For information, contact Carla Aguilar, caguil13@msudenver.edu

Monday, November 11
Visiting Artist Lecture
Dr. Ella Maria May: Afro-Futurism
King Center Recital Hall
11:00 am, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, November 11
Convocation: Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, November 11
MSU Denver Early Music Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Wednesday, November 13
MSU Denver Flute Studio Recital
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Thursday,  November 14
MSU Denver Collaborative Piano and Voice Recital
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

November 14-16, 21-23, 24*
Music Theatre Production
"Godspell" by John-Michael Tebelak and Stephen Schwartz
MSU Denver Studio Theatre
7:30 pm and *2:30 pm, Tickets $21, $11

Friday, November 15
MSU Denver Gamelan and African Drum Ensembles
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm, Tickets $7

Saturday, November 16
Woodwind All-State Prep Workshop
Arts Building, Room 295
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Sunday, November 17
MSU Denver Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Monday, November 18
MSU Denver Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Tuesday, November 19
MSU Denver Guitar Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $7

Wednesday, November 20
Convocation: Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, November 20
Visiting Artist Series
Mauricio Náder, piano
Mexican Piano: 150 Years of Nationalist Music
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $16, $12, $10

November 22-23
Opera Theatre Ensemble and MSU Denver Symphony Orchestra present
"Luisa Fernanda" by Federico Moreno Torroba
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $12, $8, $5

December

Monday, December 2
MSU Denver Percussion Ensemble and Symphonic Band
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $12, $8, $5

Tuesday, December 3
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Wednesday, December 4
MSU Denver Jazz Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

Thursday, December 5
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $7

December 6-7
Holiday Card to the City
MSU Denver Festival Choir and Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $20, $18, $15

Sunday, December 8
MSU Denver Mariachi Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
3:00 pm, Tickets $7

January 2020

Saturday, January 11
Audition Day
King Center
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information or to schedule an audition, call 303-615-1010

NOTE: All events are subject to change. 


Edit this page