Skip to main content Skip to main content
Covid-19 Safety Precaution

All music and theatre events at MSU Denver are cancelled while Covid-19 safety measures are in effect.

Spring 2020 Music Events


IMPORTANT ANNOUNCMENT:

MSU Denver President Janine Davidson, Ph.D. has announced that MSU Denver is moving all classes online by March 30 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Music Department has canceled all remaining concerts and events for the semester with the exception of Senior Recitals. Students who are scheduled to perform Senior Recitals this semester will work with their area directors to determine the best option available as we adapt to the quickly-changing conditions on campus and in the city.


 

 March  |  April  |  May  |  Summer

March

March 4-7, 8*
Musical Theatre Production
"Chicago"
Eugenia Rawls Courtyard Theatre, 7:30 pm and *2:30 pm

Wednesday, March 4
Visiting Artist Series
Elizabeth Crone, flute; Kyle Hutchins, saxophone; Sarah Rushing, piano
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

Friday, March 6
DPS Solo/Ensemble Workshop
King Center Concert Hall
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
For information, contact Mark Harris, harrimar@msudenver.edu

Saturday, March 7
Modern Band for Little Kids
Arts Building 293/295
8:00 am - 6:00 pm
For information, contact Carla Aguilar, caguil13@msudenver.edu

Monday, March 9
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, March 9
Faculty Artist Series
Nanette Shannon, piano & Friends
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

Wednesday, March 11
MSU Denver Symphonic Band & Chamber Orchestra 
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

Thursday, March 12
Spring Choral Concert
MSU Denver University Basso Choir, University Treble Choir, 
& Auraria Choir
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

Saturday, March 14
Spring Choral Concert
MSU Denver Chorale, St. Martin's Chamber Choir, 
& guest Bear Creek High School Choir
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Tuesday, March 17
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Wednesday, March 18 
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm

CANCELED: Wednesday, March 18
MSU Denver Jazz Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Thursday, March 19
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Monday, March 30
Faculty Artist Series
Brandon Matthews & Jooeun Pak, pianos
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

April

CANCELED: April 3-4
Denver Honors Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information, contact Brandon Matthews, bmatthe8@msudenver.edu

CANCELED: Monday, April 6
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Ralph Alessi, trumpet/composer
Arts Building, room 295
12:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

CANCELED: Monday, April 6
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm

CANCELED: Monday, April 6
MSU Denver Basso Choir Festival
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public
For information, contact MB Krueger, kruegema@msudenver.edu

CANCELED: Wednesday, April 8
Provost's Honor Recital
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Thursday, April 9
MSU Denver Collaborative Piano and Composition Recital
King Center Recital Hall, 5:00 pm

CANCELED: Monday, April 13
Faculty Artist Series
Studio Voice Showcase
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Wednesday, April 15
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm

CANCELED: Wednesday, April 15
MSU Denver Jazz Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Saturday, April 18
Audition Day
King Center
8:00 am - 5:00 pm

CANCELED: Saturday, April 18
Visiting Artist Series
Colorado Composers Concert XIV
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Monday, April 20
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm

CANCELED: Tuesday, April 21
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
Dazzle Jazz, 1512 Curtis Street, Denver
6:00 pm, $5 suggested donation

CANCELED: Wednesday, April 22
Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:30 pm

CANCELED: April 24-25
MSU Denver Opera Theatre Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Saturday, April 25
Visiting Artist Series
CIRCE Dance Festival
Walter Thompson, Soundpainting
in collaboration with the MSU Denver Dance Program
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Tuesday, April 28
Visiting Artist Series
Geoffrey Keezer and Dawn Clement, pianos
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Wednesday, April 29
MSU Denver Guitar Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

May

CANCELED: Friday, May 1
Artist in Residence
Colorado Wind Ensemble
"Picture Studies"
featuring Emily Ondracek-Peterson, violin
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Saturday, May 2
MSU Denver Festival Choir & Percussion Ensemble
"Carmina Burana"
in collaboration with the MSU Denver Dance Program
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Sunday, May 3
MSU Denver Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Concert Hall, 4:00 pm

CANCELED: Monday, May 4
MSU Denver Percussion Ensemble & Symphonic Band
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Tuesday, May 5
MSU Denver Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Wednesday, May 6
MSU Denver Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall, 7:30 pm

CANCELED: Saturday, May 9
MSU Denver Gamelan Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall, 3:00 pm

CANCELED: Saturday, May 9
MSU Denver African Drum & Dance Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall, 7:00 pm

CANCELED: Sunday, May 10
MSU Denver Mariachi Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall, 3:00 pm

Summer

June 29 - July 3, July 6-10
Orff-Schulwerk Levels
King Center 
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information, contact Carla Aguilar, caguil13@msudenver.edu

July 20-24, 27-31
Dalcroze Workshop
King Center 
8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Saturday, August 8
Audition Day
King Center
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information or to schedule an audition, call 303-615-1010

All Music events are free to MSU Denver Students, Faculty, and Staff.

TICKETS: Tickets are available through the King Center Box Office at 303-556-2296. There will be a $1 transaction fee per ticket purchased. MSU Denver Students, Faculty, and Staff must present a valid ID to receive a free ticket. 

PARKING: Free parking is available for all Music events in the 7th Street Parking Garage with a voucher upon exit.

NOTE: All events are subject to change.


Edit this page