Spring 2023 Marathon Award Recipient: Dawn P. Bookhardt, J.D.

Dawn’s experience includes serving as counsel to land developers such as Forest City (aka Brookfield Development) for the redevelopment of the Stapleton Airport and LNR Properties for the development of HighPoint at DIA.  She represented the Denver Union Station Executive Oversight Committee and the Denver Union Station Project Authority in the redevelopment of Denver Union Station, a multi-modal transportation hub in the City of Denver.  She represented a private developer in the development and negotiation of off-shore, residential, retail and commercial development agreements related to the improvement of an island venture including restaurants, lodging facilities, a shopping center, luxury villas and beach concessions.  She has also represented municipalities, underwriters and development entities for the development of several publicly financed hotels in Denver, Colorado, Omaha, Nebraska and Baltimore, Maryland, and Austin, Texas.

Dawn received the Urban League of Denver Chairman’s Award (2015) and has been named one of Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce Top 25 Most Powerful Women (2013).  She has been named one of Urban Spectrum Magazine’s Timeless Legends (2012), received the National Republican Congressional Committee’s Business Advisory Council National Leadership Award (2002), and the Women of Excellence Award (2002).  She has also received the Urban League of Colorado’s Chairman Award, and the Colorado Black Women for Political Action’s Corporate Business Award. She has also received the Mayor of Denver’s “Coin to the City” for Community service in Denver, Colorado, among other recognitions.

She is the Vice Chair of the General Law and Diversity Committees of the National Association of Bond Lawyers.  She is also active in community organizations and serves as the Chairman of the Metropolitan State University of Denver Foundation, Secretary of the Board of Directors of Denver Botanical Gardens, and a member of Colorado Black Women for Political Action and the Colorado Black Chamber of Commerce.

MSU Denver’s Marathon Award is Metropolitan State University of Denver’s most prestigious honor. The Award is bestowed on individuals, families, or organizations whose contributions, service, and leadership, exemplify the Roadrunner Difference. These individuals have a meaningful, transformative, and enduring impact on the University and its progress. MSU Denver’s Marathon Award celebrates our mission and the collective impact of our students and scholars on the communities and people of Denver, state of Colorado, nation, and world.

A flock of roadrunners is called a marathon. Honorees personify the spirit of determination our students display and in particular, in the early days of the University, as they navigated and sprinted across Denver’s busy streets to attend class. It’s the Roadrunner Difference. Marathon Award recipients reflect our diverse, purposeful, and tenacious students at the highest levels.

MSU Denver’s Marathon Award is given annually, during Spring Commencement ceremonies.

Past Marathon Award Winners