MSU Denver

One World One Water Center Advisory Council

The Advisory Council was formed during the planning stages of the One World One Water Center to help guide the Center to a successful beginning and so forth. The Council consists of water community members located across the state of Colorado and from different backgrounds to allow for the most comprehensive brainstorming sessions. The Council duties include:

  • Working to create relevance, vision, and connection within the water community
  • Serving as ambassadors for the OWOW Center in the community and around the state
  • Providing recommendations for current and future projects, programs, and services to encourage the success of the water studies program
  • Actively participate in Advisory Council activities
  • Reviewing and assessing specific programs
  • Evaluating the organizations as a whole, and providing constructive recommendations for improvement
  • Gathering input from or serving as a liaison with key constituencies
  • Providing technical expertise
  • Providing an independent, unbiased sounding board for brainstorming, creating new ventures, or identifying institutional strengths and weaknesses as well as external opportunities
  • Assisting with future fundraising efforts as member time permits
  • Providing short- and long-range budget and program planning recommendations

Current Advisory Council Members:

  • Barbara Biggs: Roxborough Water & Sanitation District
  • Lisa Darling: South Metro Water Supply Authority
  • John Echohawk: Native American Rights Fund
  • Jorge Figueroa: El Laboratorio
  • Frani Halperin: H2O Radio
  • Gregory Hobbs Jr.: Colorado Supreme Court (Retired)
  • Melinda Kassen: Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership
  • Frank Kinder: Northern Water
  • James Kircher: U.S. Geological Society (Retired) 
  • Clay Kraus: Flume Water
  • Paul Lander: University of Colorado – Boulder
  • Dan Luecke: Hydrologist and Environmental Scientist
  • Trina McGuire-Collier: HDR INC
  • David Miller: Keystone Science School
  • Francisco Pena: Water Resources and Documentation Centre
  • Jennifer Pitt: National Audubon Society
  • Jayla Poppleton: Water Education Colorado
  • Adams Price: Rotary Club of Denver
  • Tom Romero: University of Denver Law School
  • Kara Sobieski: Wilson Water Group
  • Ben Wade: Colorado Water Conservation Board
  • Kenneth Wright: Wright Water Engineers, Inc.