MSU Denver

Congratulations to the 2021-2022 Teaching Excellence Award Winners!

Mark Koester, Mathematics and Statistics


Steve Krizman, Journalism and Media Production


Claire Critchlow, Human Services and Counseling

Category II

Harry Chiang, Psychological Sciences


Award Process


Please consider applying or nominating a fellow faculty member to apply for this recognition of the outstanding efforts faculty make. Applications for the 2022-2023 Award will open in the spring.


Faculty Member handing out an award


There are four awards, each for $1,500:

  1. Tenured Faculty
  2. Tenure Track Faculty
  3. Category II
  4. Affiliate (part-time)

The Faculty Senate Teaching Excellence Awards are intended to honor individuals who demonstrate excellence in teaching by:

  • Exhibiting knowledge of their subject matter
  • Showing enthusiasm for their subject matter and for imparting that enthusiasm to students
  • Maintaining rigorous academic standards
  • Having a positive impact on students’ learning and professional development
  • Showing a commitment to teaching
  • Cultivating accessibility and open rapport with students

Applicants for the tenured and tenure track award must be full-time faculty and have taught a full load or worked an equivalent load during both semesters of 2020-2021. Applicants for the full-time temporary and part-time faculty award must have taught classes during both semesters of 2020-2021. The Teaching Excellence Award Committee is committed to evaluating on-line and hybrid teaching and encourages all faculty to consider applying for this prestigious award.


Application Process

All applications must have been received by the deadline for full consideration.

A complete application will include the following:

  1. Complete SRIs from 2019-2020 calendar year Fall and Spring, or Spring 2020 and Fall 2020
  2. Syllabus from one class;
  3. Guidelines for one assignment;
  4. Teaching schedule this semester with times and location of classes;
  5. Letter of recommendation from someone who has observed the applicant’s teaching and is not a student.

Please direct questions to [email protected].


Past Recipients


2020-2021 Carla Aguilar
2019-2020 Meredith Jeffers
2018-2019 Ingrid Carter
Lisa Hagen
2017-2018 Sue Barnd
2016-2017 Jeff Loats
2015-2016 Matt Makley
2014-2015 Barbara McKenzie
2013-2014 Cherise Leiter
2012-2013 Lunden MacDonald
2011-2012 Rebecca Ferrell
2010-2011 Jennifer Weddig
2009-2010 Ann Williams
2008-2009 Bill Baxendale
2007-2008 Eric Erickson
2006-2007 Nancy Frontczak
2005-2006 Anil Rao
2004-2005 Robert Schatz


2020-2021 Leslie Boyd
2019-2020 Ann Obermann
2018-2019 n/a
2017-2018 Cory Sell
2016-2017 Jeff Parker
2015-2016 Barb EchoHawk
  Rebecca Canges
2014-2015 Courtney Rocheleau
2013-2014 Uwe Kackstaetter
2012-2013 Andrew Bonham
  Todd Reimer
2011-2012 Annie Butler
2010-2011 Jeff Loats
2009-2010 David Kish
2008-2009 Rebecca Gorman
2007-2008 Aaron Richmond
  Jeff Simpson
2006-2007 Cynthia Kuhn
2005-2006 Kamran Sahami
2004-2005 Bruce Degi

Category II

2020-2021 Alycia Palmer
2019-2020 Sophia Cherry
2018-2019 Wendy Gallagher
2017-2018 Ali O’Brien
2016-2017 Sarah Schliemann
2015-2016 Christine Kuglin


2020-2021 Joy Pieper
2019-2020 Rebecca Bryan
2018-2019  n/a
2017-2018 Christopher Keelan
2016-2017  n/a
2015-2016  n/a
2014-2015 Kayoko Moore
2013-2014 Rebecca Cottrell
2012-2013 Christopher Tetro
2011-2012 Jesse Ruderman
2010-2011 Katherine Sauer
2009-2010 Kristine Reyes
2008-2009 Wendy Gallagher
2007-2008 Allison Wilder
2006-2007 Kas Parsons
2005-2006 Jean Ethridge