The Roadrunners scored Colorado’s first-ever collegiate soccer championship when MSU Denver (25-1) beat Adelphi University 3-2 to win the NCAA Division II tournament. Highlights from the game were featured on the nationally televised show “CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA.”

“It’s such a difficult thing to win a national championship,” said Athletic Director Joan McDermott. “The team showed so much heart and drive. We’re so proud of how they represented our institution.”

The Roadrunners garnered additional tournament awards: Junior back Stephanie Prouty was named Most Outstanding Defensive Player; sophomore forward Kylee Hanavan earned Most Outstanding Offensive Player honors; and Prouty, Hanavan, senior midfielder Ymara Guante and junior midfielder Marina MacDonald were named to the All-Tournament Team.

The recognition didn’t stop when the postseason ended. The National Soccer Coaches of America Association (NSCAA) named Guante its women’s Division II National Player of the Year, and head coach Danny Sanchez was chosen as the division’s National Coach of the Year. In three years at MSU Denver, Sanchez had coached the Roadrunners to a 65-5-4 record.

Later, the Colorado State Legislature and the Denver City Council each recognized the Roadrunners with an official resolution.

Before the Final Four tournament even began, Roadrunners Hanavan and Guante were named 2004 NSCAA All-Americans.

The Roadrunners took the championship again in 2006, beating Grand Valley State. Their current streak of 13 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances is the longest active streak in Division II.