Diversity Equity and Inclusion Council (DEIC)

Executive Steering Committee

The Executive Steering Committee is a smaller and consistent structure-focused committee representing, leading, and coordinating the Diversity Equity and Inclusion Council (DEIC). The DEIC is made up of five sub-committees; each addressing structural themes and goals developed through a combination of campus-wide listening sessions, existing and new data, and campus conversations.

Committee Members


Cynthia Baron, Ed.D.

Associate Dean for Equity and Student Engagement

Michael Benitez, Vice President for the Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Michael Benitez

Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion


Megan Conklin

Executive Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations - University Advancement

Araceli Cortez

Araceli Cortez

HR Generalist- Full Time Talent- Human Resources

Manuel Del Real

Manuel Del Real

Executive Director of HSI Initiatives and Inclusion

Shadow Head Place Holder

Sonia Del Real

Administrative Assistant - Chicano Studies

Dr. Jovan Hernandez

Jovan Hernandez

Faculty Diversity Committee/Chair / Assistant Professor

Chalane Lechuga

Chalane Lechuga

Diversity Faculty Fellow/Associate Professor-ODI / Chicana/o Studies

Mora, Marie

Marie Mora

Deputy Provost

Thanh Nguyen Photo

Thanh Nguyen

Associate Director-CMEI

photo of Dr. Elizabeth Parmelee

Elizabeth Parmelee

Associate Vice President of Undergraduate Studies

K Scherrer, M.A., LCSW, Ph.D.

K. Scherrer

Director & Associate Professor BSSW Program & Social Work

Julie Sharer-Price

Julie Sharer-Price

Executive Assistant of Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Shadow Head Place Holder

Kelsey Smith

Junior Business Intelligence Analyst

Jeremy VanHooser

Jeremy VanHooser

Diversity Coordinator - Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Whei Wong-Howerton

Whei Wong

Associate Vice President of Strategy, University Communications and Marketing