Ready to find out what MSU Denver can do for you? We’ve got you covered.
Students under the age of 23 the day before classes begin must use their parent/legal guardian’s information (except where noted).
McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (UHY, 2015) allows homeless youth under the age of 23 the eligibility to obtain in-state tuition based on their own information. The Act defines an unaccompanied homeless youth as a youth whose living situation is not “fixed, regular, and adequate,” (homeless) and who is “not in the physical custody of a parent or guardian” (unaccompanied).
Student must be an unaccompanied homeless youth living in Colorado for the 12 months preceding the first day of classes and be able to prove that Colorado is their home of permanent residence.
The Advancing Students for a Stronger Economy Tomorrow (ASSET, 2013) bill was signed into law at MSU Denver in 2013. Under this bill, U.S. Citizens, Permanent Residents and students without lawful immigration status who meet MSU Denver’s admission requirements and the necessary qualifications outlined below are eligible for in-state tuition.Qualifications: • Have been physically present for the 12 months immediately prior to the start of the semester. • Have attended a public or private high school in Colorado for at least a year immediately before graduating high school or obtaining a GED. Steps: • Submit completed residency change request (see forms and deadlines) using parent/legal guardian’s information. • Submit your official high school transcript to the Office of Admissions. • Students without lawful immigration status will need to apply for the College Opportunity Fund (COF) and complete the affidavit indicating that you have applied for legal presence or will apply as soon as you are eligible to do so.
Complete the In-State Correction Form
Additional information can be found at College in Colorado: Colorado ASSET.
Parent/legal guardian’s must have lived in Colorado for 12 months preceding the first day of classes and be able to prove that Colorado is their home of permanent residence
The Tuition Classification for Members of American Indian Tribes with Historical Ties to Colorado Act (SB 21-029, 2021) was signed into law by Governor Polis on June 28, 2021. Under This bill, from Fall 2021 and forward, American Indians that are registered members of a federally recognized American Indian tribe with historical ties to Colorado shall qualify for in-state status and pay the in-state tuition rates.
|Apache Tribe of Oklahoma||Oglala Sioux Tribe||Pueblo of Santa Ana|
|Cheyenne & Arapahoe Tribes of Oklahoma||Ohkay Owingeh (Pueblo of San Juan)||Pueblo of Santa Clara|
|Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe||Osage Nation||Pueblo of Taos|
|Comanche Nation, Oklahoma||Paiute Indian Tribe||Pueblo of Tesuque|
|Crow Creek Sioux Tribe||Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma||Pueblo of Zia|
|Crow Tribe||Pueblo of Acoma||Rosebud Sioux Tribe|
|Eastern Shoshone Tribe (Wind River Reservation)||Pueblo de Cochiti||San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe|
|Fort Sill Apache Tribe||Pueblo of Isleta||Shoshone-Bannock Tribes|
|The Hopi Tribe||Pueblo of Jemez||Southern Ute Indian Tribe|
|Jicarilla Apache Nation||Pueblo of Laguna||Standing Rock Sioux Tribe|
|Kewa Pueblo (Formally the Pueblo of Santo Domingo)||Pueblo of Nambe||Three Affiliated Tribes|
|Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma||Pueblo of Picuris||Ute Indian Tribe (Uintah & Ouray Reservation)|
|Mescalero Apache Tribe||Pueblo of Pojoaque||Ute Mountain Ute Tribe|
|Navajo Nation||Pueblo of San Felipe||Wichita & Affiliated Tribes|
|Northern Arapaho Tribe||Pueblo of San Ildefonso||Ysleta del Sur Pueblo|
|Northern Cheyenne Tribe||Pueblo of Sandia||Zuni Tribe of the Zuni Reservation|
Student must have been married, lived in Colorado for 12 months preceding the first day of classes and be able to prove that Colorado is their home of permanent residence.
Student must have been financially independent from their parent/legal guardian, lived in Colorado for 12 months preceding the first day of classes and be able to prove that Colorado is their home of permanent residence.
The tuition law was updated to reflect economic benefits (2007 & 2009) for the state when companies and employees move to Colorado. Students affected by a job relocation to Colorado within 12 months preceding classes may be eligible for in-state tuition.