

## **Faculty Senate**

Jan 31, 2024, 3:20 – 4:50pm

# <u>Tivoli 320/Microsoft Teams</u>

#### **Minutes**

(To be approved 2/14/2024)

Attendees: Adibifar, Allen, Allert, Ansburg, Baker, Balogh, Battson, Benabe, Bernhardt, Bertoni, Boneh, Botyarov, Brower, Busila, Carnes, Cheng, Clark, Conroy, Davie, Denn, Dhoot, Dickerson, Dyer, Faymen, Ficsor, Fontenot, Friedland, Furton, Geinitz, Gillespie, Glatz, Grevstad, Griffin, Herring, AHill, KHill, Hammar, Horan, Jeong, Jordan, Kackstaetter, Katz, BKendall, CKendall, Kesselring, Klimek, Koltz, Komodore, Kuhn, Lambert, Lane, Li, Looby, Luiz, Lunsford, Macy, Maher, Maldonado, Mallett, Martyn, McKenna, Meloche, Merriam, Merrill Schmidt, Miller, Montero, Moore, Murphy, Murray, Musimbi, Ng, Obermann, Olsen, Ortiz, Padilla, Parker, Pittman, Piturro, Prestridge, Prundeanu-Thrower, Quijada, Reilly, Ropp, Sanchez, Schatz, Schmidt, Shafieizadeh, Srinivasan, Starostyuk, Suter, Swisher, Thareja, Trombley, Trujillo, Valipour, Varela, Wanberg, Walsh-Aziz, Wanberg, Wright, Wycoff, Yee, Yoncha, You.

### I. Welcome

The meeting was called to order at 3:20 pm

#### II. Guests

Marie Mora, Deputy Provost – Overload Teaching Update

#### III. Announcements Liz Goodnick

- Mandatory Reporting Participation Verification
- Senator Elections
- ESSJ Workshops
- Budget Proposals
- Teaching Excellence Awards

### IV. Quorum Vote

## V. Approval of Minutes

The minutes of 12-6-2023 were reviewed by the Senate and **approved** with 86% approval.

The minutes of 1-17-2024 were reviewed by the Senate and **approved** with 90% approval.

VI. Faculty Trustee Report: Ann Obermann

VII. APC Technical Changes: Jenny Allert, Chair of APC Committee

**Academic Policy Update First Read** 

VIII. Shared Governance "Enaction" Working Group: Jenny Allert, Co-Chair

Shared Governance Recommendations Second Read & Vote

**Motion:** To Approve Recommendations

Motioned by: Senator Zsuzsa Balogh, second, Senator Christopher Meloche

**Decision Passed:** 68 yes, 3 no, 4 abstentions

IX. DEI Task Force Proposed Handbook Changes: Chalane, Lechuga, Devika Banerji,

Michael Benitez, Michele Trujillo

Background/FAQ and First Read

X. Senator Action Items: President Goodnick

XI. Standing Motion to Adjourn