

May 14, 2021

Dear Metropolitan State University of Denver Roadrunners,

The 2021-22 Student Government Assembly (SGA) Elections concluded on May 7th, 2021, at 11:45 pm after being open for a 2-week period. Unfortunately, with the changes to the voting system moving to using roadrunner link and remotely working from home, our voter turnout has fallen massively short compared to the prior years. Additionally, the Auraria Higher Education Center (AHEC) shifted their campus involvement with the tri-institutional election process to just allowing each school to perform their own elections. In the past, AHEC hosted the voting system due to the referendums involving all three institutions with RTD College Pass Referendum & Composting Expansion Referendum as two examples. However, that was not the case this year and gave us the freedom to host our own elections in our own platforms.

With that being said, we began this year's election by doing extensive marketing to other MSU Denver offices, educational programs, and student organizations to boost the involvement in this year's 2021 SGA Elections. Additionally, the Manager of Election Services, Sheldon Erick Solis-Manus, was asked to push the date for the Spring 2021 Elections Cycle period from the prior dates, April 12th, 2021, through April 16th, 2021, to the new 2-WEEK timeframe, April 26th, 2021, through May 7th, 2021. As such, the Candidate Applications deadline was extended twice, once until April 2, 2021, and the other through April 16, 2021. Lastly, SGA Election Services extended the Constitutional Amendments Deadline from the prior, Monday, April 5th, 2021, to Wednesday, April 21st, 2021, to internally support the attempt SGA Representative's agenda to make structural changes to the SGA's organization.

Based on the ballots received Roadrunner students have voted in favor of the Constitutional Referendum: "From Constitution to Shared Governance. The Activation of The Student Advocacy Council (TSAC) 'Many Voices. One Mission. One Council.'" TSAC aims to dissolve all current SGA governing documents (SGA Constitution, SGA Member's Handbook, Senate Bylaws, Election Codes, and Election Services Bylaws) except for SACAB Bylaws and SAB Bylaws. Currently, the Referendum has outlined its actions via their request, here, to transition to a 22 Council Membership (2 SACAB Representatives, 1 Student Advisor to the Board of Trustees, and 19 Representatives), its Planning & Implementation, Bi-Monthly Stipend formation, and Student Fees & Student Affair Fees involvement. TSAC will effectively take place on July 1st, 2021, till June 30th, 2022.

The voting breakdown was as follows:

#### **Constitutional Amendment**

	Yes	%	No	%	Total
From Constitution to Shared Governance	83	64.84	33	25.78	116

And The Roadrunner voters have also elected their 2021 – 2022 TSAC (SGA) Representatives. Congratulations to all the new TSAC (SGA) Elected Officials who have accepted their position! The newly elected officials include:

SGA Elected Role Title	New TSAC Role Title	TSAC Member
President	Council Member	Shane Bowman
Student Trustee	Student Advisor to the Board of Trustees	Savannah Martel
SACAB Representative	SACAB Representative	X (Antwaun D. Johnson)
Student Senator	Council Member	Sena Bryant
Student Senator	Council Member	Nicolle Cirino
Student Senator	Council Member	Taylor Lucas
Student Senator	Council Member	Nathan Pryor
Student Senator	Council Member	Manuel "Manny" Saldana
Student Senator	Council Member	Gabriel Trujillo

The voting breakdown was as follows:

## President (1)

	Votes	%
Shane Bowman	83	64.8
Write-In	21	16.4
Total Voters	104	81.24

# Vice President (1)

	Votes	%
Write-In	36	28.12
Total Voters	36	28.12

### **Student Trustee (1)**

	Votes	%
Savannah Martel	90	70.31
Write-In	11	8.59
Total Voters	101	78.9

Student Advisory Committee to the Auraria Board (SACAB) Representative (2)

•	Votes	%
X (Antwaun D. Johnson)	94	74.43
Write-In	17	13.28
Total Voters	111	87.71

### **Student Senators (8)**

· ,	Votes	%
Sena Bryant	63	49.21
Gabriel Trujillo	61	47.65
Nicolle Cirino	60	46.87
Manuel Saldana	54	42.18
Nathan Pryor	52	40.62
Taylor Lucas	40	31.25
Write-In	35	27.34
Total Voters	128	~ 40.73

<sup>\*</sup>The (~) represents an estimate on the number of total voters' percentage for the student senator positions, as voters were able to vote up to eight times.

The SGA Election Team would like to thank you for your participation in this year's virtual elections and please help us congratulate the success of our 2021 – 2022 elected TSAC (SGA) Representatives!

Best Regards,

Sheldon E. Solís-Manus | Elections Manager

Sheldon Crick Solis-Manus

Student Government Assembly

Metropolitan State University of Denver

sgaelection@msudenver.edu

Pronouns: He/Him/His