

Department of Social Work

Master of Social Work Pinning & Hooding Ceremony

Wednesday, May 12, 2021 at 6:00 PM Seawell Ballroom at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts







- 1. give (someone) the authority or power to do something.
- 2. make (someone) stronger and more confident especially in controlling their life and claiming their rights.







Welcome to the 2021 MSW Program Pinning & Hooding Ceremony

Program of Events

Pomp and Circumstance

Welcoming Remarks

Jessica Retrum, MSSW, Ph.D., Department of Social Work Chair Rebecca Trammell, Ph.D., College of Health & Applied Science Interim Dean

Remarks

Alfred W. Tatum, Ph.D., Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs

Hooding Ceremony Opening Remarks & Announcement of Capstone Awards

Jessica Retrum, MSSW, Ph.D., Department of Social Work Chair

Hooding Ceremony

Jo Daugherty Bailey, MSW, Ph.D., MSW Program Director

MSW Program Faculty of the Year

Perri Corvino, MSW, LCSW, LAC, Lecturer in Social Work

Student Speakers

Alexandra Hood and Tomi Weinbaum

Closing Remarks

Jo Daugherty Bailey, MSW, Ph.D., MSW Program Director

MSW Program Regalia and Honors

Academic Hood: The academic hood is a symbol of a degree earned. A hood is comprised of three parts: the shell, an interior lining, and the trim. The shell typically matches the color of the robes. As a graduate of Metropolitan State University of Denver, the lining of our graduates' hoods is red and blue. The trim around the outside of the cowl is indicative of the field in which the academic degree was earned - the citron color on our graduates' hoods represents social work. Finally, the length of the hood indicates the level of the degree earned. A hood that is three and a half feet in length is the symbol of a masters degree.

Phi Alpha Members (*): Blue and yellow braided cords or yellow stoles with the Phi Alpha symbol. The Phi Alpha Honor Society Epsilon Lambda Chapter is the MSU Denver chapter of the national social work honor society.

Child Welfare Scholars (*): Blue stoles with gold trim. The Title IV-E Child Welfare Stipend Program is designed to prepare students to pursue a career as a caseworker or supervisor in child welfare services.

HEALS Scholars (§): Gold stoles with blue trim. The Social Work Health Care Education and Leadership Scholars (HEALS) Program is designed to develop the next generation of health care social work leaders.

HRSA Scholars (Δ): Red stoles with gold trim. The HRSA BHWET Stipend Program is designed to prepare students to provide behavioral healthcare services to populations across the lifespan, including in rural and medically underserved areas.

Departmental Scholarship Recipients (†): Each academic year, the Department awards two Commitment to Diversity Scholarships, two Gerontology Scholarships, one Bilingual Scholarship, and five Roadrunners Rising Scholarships to our MSW Program students.

Jennifer S. Mankey Endowed Scholarship Recipient (††): The Jennifer S. Mankey Endowed Scholarship aims to support minority female students in completing their education.

Social Work Student Award Recipients (†): Each spring, the Department awards three MSW Program students (nominated by faculty and fellow students) with the Social Work Scholar Award, the Social Work Leadership Award, and the Social Justice Advocate Award.

Laure Abercrombie

Emina Acosta

Monica Acosta *

Elodi Aguirre Δ †

Leslie Alamo

Kimberly Allen

Staci Alley

Amayrani Andrade

Kelsey Antun

Crystalann Archuleta ◊

Michelle Avila Quintero

Alondra Banuelos Robles * A

Tara Barrett

Marcia Batchelder

Tara Benegas ◊

Sheila Benintendi *

Kimberlyn Bennett ‡

Paula Bishop

Hannah Blake Δ

Katherine Bouchard *

Sydney Branaman

Shannon Breaux

Anna Brennan

Tara Brooks

Hayley Brown *

Carmelita Bryant *

Lydia Bumpers

Matthew Burkhart

Caroline Cameron

Jennifer Campos *

Joseph Cardamone Δ

Caitlin Carranza

Brandon Carson

Kristy Casulo

Stacy Cavanaugh

Rocio Cazares

Carley Clark

Kristin Clark

Meladie Clopton * **

Erin Cocchiaro §

Rebecca Cohen

Antonio Conde

Emilianne Coringrato * †

Sarah Critchfield

Larissa Cunningham *

Rachel Dance Δ

Katie Davis

Graciela De La Cruz

Alexis Deignan Δ

Sabre Diaz

Vanessa Dill

Shauna Diner

Mekinzi Douglas A

Lillian Duffy

Rachael Durham

Grace Ehemann

Wendy Emmel

Abigail Ensmenger

Hawa Fahn

Michelle Fancher

Andrea Fillingane

Chaya Finck

Amanda Finn *

Silvia Flores Pasillas

Errol Flynn

Ashlev Foldes

Kellyn Forsman

Benjamin Fox ◊

Sorava Frank

Margaret Frasure Δ

Michelle Frias

Sandra Garcia Δ

Kayleigh Gates △

Alix Gleave

Debra Goodstein

Samantha Gray *

Lisa Hale

Holly Harris ◊

Ashley Heidekrueger ◊

Julie Herrera-Rivera

Kent Hess

Laura Hirsch *

Nicole Hodaes

Katherine Holcomb Δ

Alexandra Hood

Chelsea Hull **

Chidiebere Ihekweazu

Arya January

Mikavla Jones

Marissa Josub *

Anna Khandrueva *

Shaunna Kimble *

Alysa Kipersztok Δ

Rachel Kisselman

Lena Knechtel *

Sarah Knighten

Mary Beth Kruger *

Chelsie Lawson △

Kelsey Leffel

Amara Lehrburger A

Allison Leon

Sophia Lind

Jesse Liu

Maria Aurora Lopez Villa Gallardo

Chantel Lucero

Somer Lundborg

Jerusalem Mamo

Kendall Marlow

Lauren Matias

Kelly McGinnis

Nancy Medina * △

Cassidy Meehan

John Mok-Lamme

Susanna Molnar ◊

Emily Morin **

Karla Muniz

Areli Munoz * ◊

Alyssa Nazario Δ

Rondi Noden Δ

Natalie Noll

Sara Novicki

Frida Ocadiz-Ortega *

Mesa Owen

Catherine Page

Mikayla Palma Δ

Gage Papierski * △

Laura Patterson ◊

Emily Permenter

Melissa Phifer *

Amber Picciurro

Lisa Power

Jennifer Price * △

Kelly Rankin

Daniel Reichwein * A †

Flizabeth Richter

Toni Riney ◊

Arianna Rivera

Faith Roberts

Zsanae Roberts ◊

Amanda Ruckstuhl ◊

Roni Ruiz

Beth Ruybal

Alena Ruzicka

Leah Schmidt

Brandon Schwartz

Callie Shelton * †

Shawna Shirazi A

Hannah Shirley

Lindsay Shomaker

Jahayra Sifuentes

Leslie Sotelo ◊

Erika Spraker

Jacov Springer

Claire Steeno

Susan Sterne *

Caleb Stewart

Amber Stroud

Brenna Swanson

Ana Swoboda

Amanda Thomas A

Jacklyn Thompson ‡

Ricky Thompson

Courtney Thoms *

Flizabeth Tice

Ali Timlin

Alexandra Valdez Δ

Anna Valiante *

Abigail Vance

Stephanie Velazquez ◊ †

Erin Waanders

Katherine Walter

Jill Ward *

Tomasen Weinbaum * △ ‡

Carla Whitlatch-Lopez

Claire Wiley

Jamie Williams *

Elizabeth Wilson

McKinnley Witty *

Ley-Lonni-Marie Woodruff * † ††

Alexandra Wright



Connect with us on social media:



Twitter:

@MSUDenverSWK



Instagram:

@MSUDenverSWK



Facebook:

Department of Social Work MSU Denver



YouTube:

MSU Denver Department of Social Work

Use **#MSUDenverMSW21** on Twitter and Instagram or tag us on Facebook and we may share your post to our pages!

This ceremony is also being live-streamed on the "Graduation Events" page on our website. The video will be available to watch after the event on our website and our YouTube page.

www.msudenver.edu/socialwork