Skip to main content Skip to main content

Press Release

Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society to Add MSU Denver School of Nursing

Contact: Tim Carroll, Office 303-556-5136, Cell 303-870-7705

Posted: March 31, 2014

(Denver) — Metropolitan State University of Denver Department of Nursing has been approved by the Sigma Theta Tau International board of directors for membership in the Alpha Kappa Chapter at Large of the Honor Society of Nursing. Sixty-five nurse leaders and students will be inducted as new members.

The Honor Society of Nursing will officially amend its charter by adding the Department of Nursing within the School of Professional Studies at MSU Denver on Monday, March 31, 2014 at 5:30 p.m. The ceremony will be held at SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown. Beth Tigges, vice president of Sigma Theta Tau International, will conduct the charter amendment ceremony and will be assisted by the Chapter President Kathleen Bradley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, from The Children's Hospital Colorado. Acceptance remarks will be delivered by Linda Stroup, Ph.D., RN, chair for the Department of Nursing at MSU Denver. 

The Honor Society of Nursing is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to improve the health of people worldwide through leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research. Membership in the honor society is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, and to nurse leaders who demonstrate exceptional achievement in nursing.

The chapter includes members who are nurse leaders from the community and nursing students from University of Colorado College of Nursing, Anschutz Medical Campus and Regis University Rueckert-Hartman College for Health Professions, Loretta Heights School of Nursing, and the School of Nursing and Health Sciences of the Colorado Christian University.

To become part of the honor society, a school of nursing must offer a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent and be accredited by a recognized accrediting body.

Dignitaries who will be participating in the event include Sarah Thompson, dean of the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus College of Nursing; Carol Weber, dean of the Regis University Rueckert-Hartman College for Health Professions and Loretta Heights School of Nursing; and Barbara White, dean of School of Nursing and Health Sciences of the Colorado Christian University. Officials from MSU Denver will be present to recognize the honor and accomplishment of its Department of Nursing.


About Sigma Theta Tau International

Founded in 1922, the honor society currently has 134,000 active members in more than 90 countries. Members include practicing nurses, instructors, researchers, policymakers, entrepreneurs and others. The honor society’s 463 chapters are located at 571 institutions of higher education throughout the United States, as well as in Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Ghana, Hong Kong, Japan, Kenya, Korea, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Singapore, South Africa, Swaziland, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, and Wales. More information on the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International can be found online at


About Metropolitan State University of Denver

MSU Denver is a leader in educating Coloradans in university programs particularly relevant to the state economy and the demands of today’s employers.  With the highest number of ethnically diverse students among the state’s four-year colleges, MSU Denver offers 55 majors plus master’s degrees in accounting, teaching and social work.  More than 22,000 students are currently enrolled, and 75 percent of the university’s 77,000 graduates have remained in Colorado as valuable members of the state’s workforce. 

Edit this page