Aviation and Aerospace members standing with trophyMSU Denver’s Precision Flight Team won the Loening Trophy at the May 2011 Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON). The only other Colorado school ever to have won the 82-year-old award is the Air Force Academy.

‌Presented annually by the National Intercollegiate Flying Association Foundation, the Loening Trophy recognizes the most outstanding all-around collegiate aviation program in the country. Key grading elements of the award include academics, community involvement, aviation skills, safety and an ability to advance the profession.‌

Jeff Forrest, chair and professor of aviation and aerospace science, said that the team had consistently been raising the bar at competitions in recent years, both regionally and nationally.

“I’m so proud of our students and our faculty who inspire them to perform at such a high level of professionalism in our field.”

The perpetual trophy is made of pure silver, was designed by Tiffany & Co. and dates back to 1929. It was named after aviation pioneer and inventor Grover Loening, the first aeronautical engineer hired by the Wright Brothers to manage the Wright Aircraft Company. Loening judged the first award competition with Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart.