Skip to main content Skip to main content

SRI Task Force formed

President Stephen Jordan has appointed a task force to evaluate Student Ratings of Instruction (SRI) for Summative Purposes over the next year.

August 26, 2013

President Stephen Jordan has appointed a task force to evaluate Student Ratings of Instruction (SRI) over the next year.

“We developed a new approach to using what are often referred to as ‘student evaluations of teaching’ during the three years the Faculty Evaluation Task Force worked on revising how we evaluate tenure-line faculty for tenure, promotion to Associate and Full Professor, and Post-Tenure review,” said Vicki Golich, provost and vice president for academic and student affairs. Student ratings of instruction typically include both quantitative and qualitative ratings, she said. The old student evaluations used here were primarily quantitative in nature and asked about 20 questions.

We now ask only two key questions: Students are asked to provide numerical scores from 1 (very poor) to 6 (excellent) in evaluating both a course as a whole and the instructor’s contribution to the course. Students are also asked to provide reasons why they gave their rating.

A second portion of the SRIs allows faculty and departments to ask up to three “teaching improvement questions,” and the comments on these go only to the faculty member. A third section allows the faculty member to provide comments “in the event of an unusual circumstance or circumstances” that may have influenced student ratings.

This task force will be co-chaired by Deputy Provost Luis Torres and Aviation and Aerospace Professor James Simmons. The structure will include the deputy provost, a dean, a representative from the Center for Faculty Development, department chairs, faculty representatives from all three schools and three representatives from Faculty Senate.  Below is the proposed committee structure:

Deputy Provost, Luis Torres
James Simmons (Professor of Aerospace Science)

School of Business
Debbie Gilliard (Chair and Professor of Management)
Kishore Kulkarni (Professor of Economics)

School of Letters, Arts and Science
Winston Grady-Willis (Chair and Professor of Africana Studies)
Layton Curl (Chair and Professor of Psychology)
Dave Ruch (Professor of Mathematics)
Elizabeth Kleinfeld (Associate Professor of English) 

School of Professional Studies
Ruth Ann Nyhus (Chair and Professor of Human Performance and Sport)
Peter Vigil (Associated Professor of Early Childhood Education) 

Center for Faculty Development
Jane Chapman Vigil (Professor of English)

Joan Foster (School of Letters, Arts and Sciences)

Faculty Senate   
Madison Holloway (School of Business) Immediate Past Chair of RTP Committee
Lisa Ortiz (School of Professional Studies) Vice President/Chair of RTP Committee
Sheila Rucki Letters, Arts and Sciences) Secretary/Chair of Welfare Committee

Edit this page