Skip to main content Skip to main content


The MLK Peace Breakfast Planning Committee is comprised of members from across MSU Denver and the campus committee. The committee plays a very important role in planning the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace Breakfast annually, as one of Metropolitan State University of Denver’s flagship events.

Initiated on January 15, 1992, the Peace Breakfast was created to commemorate the philosophy and values of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. by promoting diversity and equality for all humanity, within our campus community and the Denver community at-large. The key component of the MLK Peace Breakfast is the awards ceremony which acknowledges and celebrates individuals within MSU Denver and the Denver community who keep the spirit and dream of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. alive through their actions and contributions to peace, justice, diversity, equality, and social change.


Committee Co-Chairs:

Myron R. Anderson, Ph.D.

Carrie T. Warren

Planning Committee

2018 Planning Committee:

Myron Anderson Associate to the President
Cathy Break Study Abroad Advisor
Adrienne  Christy Web & Multimedia Developer
Alton  Clark Associate Director
Amber Cook Assistant Director
Kathleen Jewby Production Manager
Donelyn  Jones Academic Advisor
Lisa  Kirscht Individualized Degree Specialist
Amber Mozet Assistant to Director and Programs Manager
Estevan Ruiz Student Graphic Designer
Julie Sharer-Price Administative Assistant for Diversity and Inclusion
Nathan Solheim Web Content Manager
Yadira  Solis Administrative Coordinator
Stephanie Tierney Executive Assistant to the Chief of Staff
Jeremy  VanHooser Diversity Coordinator
Carrie Warren Community Member 
Kimberly Williams Associate Director
Mandy Wilson Post Awards Coordinator & Billing Specialist
Lorri  Wray Fiscal Manager


Contact Jeremy VanHooser with questions concerning committee membership at or (303) 615-2063.

Edit this page