Skip to main content Skip to main content

Hispanic Serving Institution Implementation Team (2018-2019)

Angela R. Marquez Ph.D., Special Assistant to the President for HSI, Chair 


Work Group 1 – Institutional Infrastructure

Eric Silva - TRiO Scholar Advisor, TRiO Student Support Services  - Chair

Maria Akrabova, Ph.D. – Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Miguel Garza Wicker - Director of Digital Strategy

Evelynn Guzman de Leon - Student Retention Specialist, College Assistance Migrant Program

Sarah Harman - Executive Director, Office of University Effectiveness

Chalane Lechuga, Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Department of Chicana/Chicano Studies

Adriana Nieto, Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Department of Chicana/Chicano Studies

Braelin Pantel – Associate Vice President Student Engagement and Wellness / Dean of Students

M. Marina Pereira Ph.D. – Associate Dean, College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences

Tisha Townsend - TRiO Scholar Advisor, TRiO Student Support Services

Steve Willich - Director, LGBTQ Student Resource Center

Jeremy VanHooser - Diversity Coordinator, Office of Diversity and Inclusion


Work Group 1, Sub Group – Cultural Competence

Samantha Borrego – Advisor, College of Letters, Arts, & Sciences – Chair

Horacio Borja-Duran – Coordinator of Family, Spanish, and Special Programs, Roadways

Gregor Mieder – Coordinator, Immigrant Services Program

Brandi Scott – Associate Dean, Center for Equity and Student Achievement

Katherine Young, Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Secondary K-12 Education, School of Education


Work Group 2 - PreK-12 Outreach

Cynthia Baron – Director, Center for Multicultural Excellence & Inclusion - Chair

Maria Bracamontes – Program Assistant, Department of Modern Languages

Tayla Dornbush, Ph.D. – Education Director, Center for Visual Art

Megan Hughes-Zarzo, Ph.D. – Director, Honors Program

Matthew Jenkins – Associate Professor, Integrated Media, Department of Art

Hsiu-Ping Liu, Ph.D. – Professor, Department of Biology and Director CO-AMP, Center for Advanced STEM

Carla Mirabelli – Director, Center for Urban Education and TRiO Upward Bound

Ambrosio Rodriguez-Hernandez – Admissions Counselor, Admissions

Luis Sandoval – Associate Director, Excel


Work Group 3 – Transfer & Enrollment Management

Tiffani Baldwin, Ph.D. – Coordinator of Transfer, Roadways – Co-Chair

Courtney Matsumoto – Program Coordinator, Advanced Manufacturing Sciences Institute – Co-Chair

Joshua Gabrielson – Associate Director of Admissions, Transfer Services

Laura Gorny, Ph.D. – State and Federal Reporting Specialist, Institutional Research

Bill Herman Ph.D. – Associate Dean, College of Business

Erin Hiltner – Associate Athletic Director for Student Services, Intercollegiate Athletics

Deborah A. Horan, Ph.D. – Chair and Professor, Elementary Education and Literacy, School of Education

Lori Kester – Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management

Jennifer Lampe – Transfer Evaluation Supervisor, Office of the Registrar

Connie Sanders – Interim Registrar, Office of the Registrar

Megan Scherzberg, Ph.D. – Director of Orientation, Transition and Retention, Roadways

Brandy Schooler – Prior Learning Specialist, Office of Registrar

Vaughn Toland – Executive Director, Admissions and Outreach, Admissions

Kim Williams – Associate Director, Advising Intervention Services


Work Group 4 – Financial Aid

Juan Gallegos – Assistant Director Center for Multicultural Excellence & Inclusion – Co-Chair

Thomas Hernandez – Associate Director, Financial Aid & Scholarships – Co-Chair

Michelle LeBoo – Associate Director, Financial Aid - Reporting and Communications

Ariadna Ochoa Magallanes – Specialist, Immigrant Services Program

Thad Spaulding – Executive Director, Financial Aid and Scholarships

Gwen Thompson – Senior Director of Development, University Advancement


Work Group 5 – Policy

Ally Garcia – Director, TRiO Student Support Services – Chair

Ramon Del Castillo, Ph.D. –Chair and Professor, Department of Chicana/Chicano Studies

Raquel Jimenez – Interim Director, College Assistance Migrant Program

Megan Jones – Policy Administrator, Office of General Counsel

Yadira Solis – Graduate Intern, College Assistance Migrant Program

Edit this page