MSU Denver

Past Recipients

Congratulations to the following chairs. Their leadership epitomizes the excellence that elevates MSU Denver, faculty, staff, and students.

Dr. Jessica Rossi-Katz

Dr. Jessica Rossi-Katz


Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences

Dan Lair

Dr. Dan Lair


Communication Studies

Professor Lux waving at an event

Dr. Ford Lux III



Please stay tuned!

Nominations for the 2021-2022 Department Chair Excellence Award will be solicited in Spring 2022.

Awards Process

Purpose and Guidelines
The intent of this award is to recognize one department chair who has done excellent work in their role as chair. The nominee must currently be a chair and must have completed one year or more as chair to be eligible. The successful nominee is one who demonstrates success in at least one of the following areas:

  1. Demonstration of outstanding leadership
  2. Demonstration of curricular innovation
  3. Promotion of student success
  4. Overall contribution toward achievement of the College and/or University Mission

A chair may self-nominate, or a nomination can come from any student, faculty, staff member or other member of the university community. The nomination should address how the nominee demonstrates the areas outlined above.

Award Screening Committee
The award screening committee will meet to review candidates and determine a winner. The committee will be chaired by the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and membership will consist of a representative from the deans, along with one chair from each college/school, and at least one faculty member from any college.

Nominations should be submitted electronically no later than close of business on the due date and should specifically address the ways in which the nominee has achieved excellence in one or more of the four areas identified above.  The recipient will be celebrated at the annual “Roadrunners Who Soar” event.