MSU Denver

Cross-campus collaborative group focusing on strengthening new student recruitment at MSU Denver


The Recruitment Council members are comprised of MSU Denver staff and faculty who are constantly evaluating enrollment trends, reviewing institutional data to develop short-term and long-term plans to amplify new student recruitment. The council is represented by individuals across campus who have identified the University’s greatest recruitment needs and implemented tactics to address them.

Through extensive market research and identifying institutional priorities, the council and subcommittes have developed strategies and immediate action items to directly impact new student enrollment in the upcoming years.



  • Market Segmentation
    • Improve transfer pipeline
    • Enhance recruitment for first year, first time students
    • Strengthen re-admit campaigns
  • Increase Collaboration of Recruitment Efforts Across Campus
    • Trainings on recruitment outreach and tactics
    • Spotlight days with academic departments for interested students
  • Process Improvement/Communications
    • Continue Slate integration with multiple systems
    • Build on virtual and social media platforms
    • Enhance yield campaigns
    • Increase communication to parents and families of prospective students
  • Options for Today’s Learners
    • Continue building online learning opportunities
    • Degree completion programs



  • Vaughn Toland – Executive Director of Admissions and Outreach
  • Daniel Lair – Chair of Department of Communication Studies


  • Michael Nguyen – Director of Enrollment Management System and Operations
  • Morgan Raleigh – Director of Recruitment
  • Marlynn Rocha-Vasquez – Director of Internal Operations
  • Thomas Hernandez – Associate Director of Financial Aid and Scholarships
  • Rebecca Gorman – Faculty
  • Michael McCabe – Tuition and Fee Appeal and Perkins Loan Manager
  • Cory Phare – Staff Writer Marketing and Communications
  • Bridgette Coble – Director of Career Services
  • Bill Herman – Associate Director, College of Business
  • Nahum Kisner – Director of Student Support and Retention
  • Brandi Rideout – Director of Alumni Relations
  • John Babcock – Associate Director of Orientation, Transition, and Retention
  • Matthew Kring – Associate Director, Student Support and Retention
  • Mark Baccei – Enrollment Management Research Analyst
  • Kailey Schwallie – Academic Advisor, Retention, and Outreach Specialist