Roadrunners are always doing spectacular things around campus and across the community and deserve recognition for their achievements and contributions. Congratulations to the following employees, students, teams and programs for their recent successes: 

MSU Denver receives $130,000 grant for OER 

The Metropolitan State University of Denver Open Educational Resources Taskforce received $130,000 in grant funding to support the University’s commitment to enhancing the affordability and accessibility of MSU Denver.  

These grants include $100,000 to expand OER in General Studies courses and develop degree programs with zero textbook cost, with $30,000 going toward open textbook-review workshops, OER faculty learning communities and adoption grants for all faculty members. The OER Taskforce projects the savings for students to be more than $260,000 in the first year of implementation of this new grant, which doesn’t include the $3.7 million it has saved students in the past five years. 

Six faculty members honored by Denver Public Schools  

The Denver Public Schools Career Exploration Program is honoring six people at MSU Denver with a collective award at its Partnership Awards Ceremony for providing an engaging and experiential-based learning experience for the high-schoolers involved in the DPS Career Spark program:  

  • Mark Yoss, director of Advanced Manufacturing 
  • Shannon Roe, assistant director of Advanced Manufacturing 
  • Katie Taft, education manager at the Center for Visual Arts 
  • Sheena Ortiz, recruitment-and-retention specialist for the School of Hospitality 
  • David Klein, professor in the Department of Industrial Design 
  • Maria Ratliff, outreach coordinator for SpaceTech Scholars 

Internal Auditing Program receives national recognition 

The Institute of Internal Auditors has named MSU Denver as a Comprehensive Internal Auditing Program, the next step in advancement to the Comprehensive Program level within the Internal Auditing Education Partnership program. There are only 22 Comprehensive IAEP Program schools currently and just 16 in the U.S., including MSU Denver. Cheers to all involved in this outstanding achievement! 

More Roadrunners to be added to Athletics Hall of Fame 

MSU Denver has announced it is inducting three former men’s basketball players, one former coach and the 2010 women’s basketball team into the Roadrunners Athletics Hall of Fame. 

  • Derrick Clark, Men’s Basketball 
  • Luke Kendall, Men’s Basketball 
  • Mitch McCarron, Men’s Basketball 
  • Mark Worthington, Men’s Basketball 
  • 2010-11 Women’s Basketball Team 

University celebrates another successful Holbrook Cup event 

MSU Denver recently hosted the annual Holbrook Cup, named after the founding director of the University’s debate program. The event featured a public exhibition debate composed of two student teams from Regis University and the University of Denver, an MSU Denver student paired with a member of the Irish Debate Series (the Holbrook Team) and a team of two Irish Debate Series students. This year, the team from Regis won and the Holbrook and Irish teams shared second place. The winners were selected by a panel of experts and an audience vote, which included more than 50 attendees. 

Student brings home a Future Broadcasters Award 

Student reporter Sassy Montenegro won a 2024 Future Broadcasters Award from the Colorado Broadcasters Association for her piece “Una Historia Verdadera” (A True Story). 

How to submit for future editions 

If you have some news you’d like to share, view this Early Bird article, determine the best place for submission and share your accomplishments!