Skip to main content Skip to main content


Lifetime achievement for baseball research, Blackboard innovators and student graphic-design award winners.

By Cory Phare

July 10, 2018

two MSU Denver students catching balloonsEmeritus Professor of history Thomas Altherr received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of American Baseball Research at SABR’s recent conference at the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. Altherr’s work on early precursors to the modern game of baseball resulted in the launch of the website Protoball, citing more than 15,000 references to pre-1860 ballgames back to 2300 B.C.

Members of Metropolitan State University of Denver’s instructional-design team (Jeff Loats, Alex McDaniel, Taylor Kendal, Dennis Smith, Sarah Debbek, Adrienne Christy and Todd Wolfe) are taking home a 2018 Blackboard Catalyst Award for Leading Change for the significant achievements accomplished with their innovative use of Blackboard solutions. Representatives will be on hand to receive the award July 19 at the BbWORLD annual user conference in Orlando, Florida.

Ofelia Schepers, assistant professor of elementary education, gave a commencement speech at the University of Colorado-Boulder, discussing her experience as a bilingual student and a calling to her work of social justice in education. Read the full text of Schepers’ speech here.

Lauren Sullivan, director of veteran and military student services, participated in the 64th annual U.S. Army War College National Security Seminar in Carlisle, Penn., to critically examine security issues affecting our nation. Civilian guests were joined by foreign military officers from locations including Australia, Romania, Qatar and Rwanda.

Aviation and aerospace science faculty member Jose López was selected for the 2018 Alumni Merit Award for Parks College of Engineering, Aviation & Technology at St. Louis University. López will receive the award in person at an event Sept. 27.

Kelly Monico, associate professor of art, led a group of students who recently took home a 2018 Merit Award from the Society for Experiential Graphic Design for their work on MSU Denver’s “We are HSI” interactive installation. The students who facilitated the project are Daisy Corso, Jacki Peketz, Kristin Townsend, Arodi Ponce and Gabrielle Pantelle.

Topics: Hispanic Serving Institution

Edit this page