Skip to main content Skip to main content

Davidson hands out first President’s Collaboration and Teamwork Award

Group lauded for “breaking down silos and taking a coordinated approach” to DACA response.

October 24, 2017

President Janine Davidson at a Cabinet meeting.President Janine Davidson presented the inaugural President’s Collaboration and Teamwork Award to the group responsible for the University’s response to the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals announcement in September.

The group included: Braelin Pantel, dean of students; Gregor Mieder, coordinator of the Immigrant Services Program; Ariadna Ochoa, specialist in immigrant services; Angela Marquez, associate to the president for HSI; Jamie Hurst, director of alumni relations and giving; David Fine, interim general council; Nick Stancil, deputy legal counsel; and students Iliana Chavez, Angelica Prisciliano and Saira Galindo Vazquez.

“So many people complimented me on the work you have done,” Davidson said. “It’s a great example of how breaking down silos and taking a coordinated approach can help us reach our goals.”

Davidson said she would give the award out as often as possible and encouraged the community to send recommendations for future honorees.

“This was such an honor and the value of collaboration cannot be understated,” Pantel said. “It was wonderful to see members of our community from diverse parts of the University be recognized for their efforts.”

Edit this page