Skip to main content Skip to main content

Diversity Equity and Inclusion Council

MSU Denver has been committed to diversity since our beginning. The Office of Diversity and Inclusion brings together faculty, staff, and students from across the university to advance our commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. 

Diversity Equity and Inclusion Council (DEIC) is charged with examining diversity, inclusion, and equity issues at MSU Denver with respect to policy and practice from multiple perspectives and across different functionalities; including access, recruitment and retention, community mending and outreach to diverse constituents internally and externally, and campus climate and institutional culture.

The DEIC works collaboratively with MSU Denver campus constituents, broader community members and additional stakeholders, as appropriate, to engage strategic and action-oriented conversations about diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Part of DEIC’s role will be to help develop and implement the institution’s Diversity Strategic Plan, which will serve as a vehicle to advance diversity, equity, and inclusion at MSU Denver. DEIC will review existing efforts aimed at enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in representation and practice, develop goals and objectives, consider approaches that will further diversity, equity, and inclusion as a pillar under the university’s strategic plan, and eventually make recommendations toward action.

Structure of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council is a consistent structure-focused council representing, leading, and coordinating Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council. DEIC is made up of five sub-committees; each addressing structural themes and goals developed through a combination of campus-wide listening sessions, existing and new data, and campus forum conversations.


Members of the Executive Leg include the Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion, Co-chairs of each subcommittee, functional areas like business intelligence, and strategy, marketing, and communications.


Michael Benitez, Ph.D. (Chair)

Cynthia Baron, Ed.D

Angela Bender

Andrea Borrego, Ph.D.

Araceli Cortez

Allyson Garcia, Ph.D.

Chalane Lechuga, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Parmelee, Ph.D.

Manuel Del Real, Ph.D.

Sonia Del Real

Mary Sauceda

Julie Sharer-Price

Kelsey Smith

Jeremy VanHooser

Whei Wong-Howerton


Angela Bender (co-chair)

Araceli Cortez (co-chair)

Chalane Lechuga, Ph.D. (co-chair)

Mohammed Akacem, Ph.D.

Jeno Balogh, Ph.D.

Maria Bracamontes

Elizabeth Goodnick, Ph.D.

Evelynn Guzman de Leon

Bill Herman, Ph.D.

Megan Lazorski, Ph.D.

Joshua Paul Martin, Ph.D.

Amanda Miracle

Douglas Mpondi, Ph.D.

Jessica Parker, Ph.D.

Sheriff Rasheed

Raúl Sánchez, J.D.

Ofelia Schepers, Ph.D.

Eric Silva

Tisha Townsend


Manuel Del Real, Ph.D. (co-chair)

Allyson Garcia, Ph.D. (co-chair)

Kristy Duran, Ph.D.

Juan Gallegos

Erin Hiltner

Janelle Johnson, Ph.D.

Megan Lazorski, Ph.D.

Courtney Matsumoto

Adriana Nieto, Ph.D.

Luis Sandoval

Kristin Schneider





Elizabeth Parmelee, Ph.D. (co-chair)

Sonia Del Real (co-chair)

Horacio Borja-Duran

Alyssa Marks

Daniela Garcia

Adrienne Martinez

Rebecca Reid

Eneri "Netty" Rodriguez

Carina Solis-Roman

Ean Tafoya

Alaura Ward


Andrea Borrego, Ph.D. (co-chair)

Jeremy VanHooser (co-chair)

Erica Buckland Anderson

Melissa Cermak, Ph.D.

Sequoya Hayes

Jovan Hernandez, Ph.D.

Di Jia, Ph.D.

John Kietzmann

Katherine Martinez, Ph.D.

Sean Murphy

Thanh Nguyen

Jody Paul, Ph.D.

K Scherrer, Ph.D.

Alaura Ward

Steve Willich

Edit this page