Skip to main content Skip to main content

The Criteria for Accreditation

The Criteria for Accreditation are the standards of quality by which the Higher Learning Commission determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation. Below is a summary of the criteria. 

The Higher Learning Commission has five criteria for accreditation. They are:

(1) Mission,

(2) Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct,

(3) Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support,

(4) Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement, and

(5) Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness.


The Higher Learning Commission’s criteria for accreditation reflect a set of guiding values and assumed practices.

Edit this page