Skip to main content Skip to main content

About the Higher Learning Commission

The Higher Learning Commission is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region, which includes the following 19 states: Arizona | Arkansas | Colorado | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Nebraska | New Mexico | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | South Dakota | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming.

The Commission is recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the assigned regional accrediting organization.


HLC Mission

Serving the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning


Contact HLC

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle St., Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1413
Phone: 800-621-7400
Fax: 312-263-7462

HLC Logo

Edit this page