Skip to main content Skip to main content

About the Higher Learning Commission


What is the Higher Learning Commission? 

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region, which includes 19 states in total. 

Why is Accreditation with the HLC Important?

The United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation recognize the Commission as the assigned regional accrediting organization. Regional accreditation validates the quality of an institution as a whole and evaluates multiple aspects of an institution ranging from its academic offerings, governance and administration, mission, finances, and resources.

The federal government has a distinct interest in the role of accreditation in assuring quality in higher education for the students who benefit from federal financial aid programs. Institutions must be accredited by a federally recognized accrediting agency to qualify for participation in federal financial aid programs that provide low-cost loans to students.

Attending a regionally accredited institution is an important consideration for a student to transfer credits to another institution or to pursue admission to graduate programs. Regionally accredited colleges and universities typically only accept credits from other regionally accredited institutions.

"Serving the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning."

The Higher Learning Commission

Mission Statement, 2020

Edit this page